Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Health and Wellness > Health Insurance
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-20-2016, 10:36 AM

351 posts, read 666,650 times

Advertisements

Can anyone tell me how much it would cost me to go to the ER at a local hospital when I only have Medicare A & B? I'm a Vet so going to the ER at the VA doesn't cost me anything but I'm moving somewhere, I don't know where but I don't like the big city so I would like to move to a place that has an out outpatient VA clinic but if I have to go to the ER just how much would it cost me? I'm 69 years old so I don't want to go broke is I get sick? But going to the doctors won't cost me anything at a VA clinic.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-20-2016, 01:55 PM

25,576 posts, read 56,455,902 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by lostsoul62 View Post
Can anyone tell me how much it would cost me to go to the ER at a local hospital when I only have Medicare A & B? I'm a Vet so going to the ER at the VA doesn't cost me anything but I'm moving somewhere, I don't know where but I don't like the big city so I would like to move to a place that has an out outpatient VA clinic but if I have to go to the ER just how much would it cost me? I'm 69 years old so I don't want to go broke is I get sick? But going to the doctors won't cost me anything at a VA clinic.
ER is considered outpatient. Medicare Part B pays 80% of outpatient services. You would be subject to the Part B $166 deductible and 20% copay.

https://www.medicare.gov/what-medica...utpatient.html