Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-03-2010, 02:50 PM

3 posts, read 18,443 times

Advertisements

I've been unemployed for over a year and haven't had a single interview.
All the responses I have received on my resume submissions have generally been that I don't have the background for the job. I was a graphic designer for the last 6 years. However, I can't find work in my area in that field since I'm not familiar with website design or computer programming, so I've decided to apply for any and all administrative/secretarial/clerical jobs I see.
As part of my employment history as a designer I did a lot of work that would also fall into the admin/assistant/secretarial/clerical fields, even though my job title was graphic designer.

Can I just leave off my job title of "graphic designer" and list out the job responsibilities by employer? Or is this going to create more confusion when someone reviews my resume?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-03-2010, 02:57 PM

Location: from houstoner to bostoner to new yorker to new jerseyite ;)
4,084 posts, read 12,679,286 times
I suppose you could, but I don't see the point. Seems like it would leave whoever's in charge of hiring you scratching their heads at exactly what you did and how much responsibility you had at previous jobs. Instead, talk up pertinent clerical skills and experience in the job duties listed on your resume and in your cover letter.

Old 07-03-2010, 03:42 PM