Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-05-2016, 08:14 AM

4,582 posts, read 3,409,523 times

Advertisements

Basically, I am applying for a job for the first time in 17 years. Fir the last 10 years I have both been self employed at 2 positions at the same time: A medieval armour making shop and running my own profitable duck farm, plus I was a ranch manager for a free range, organic poultry ranch where i was compensated in exchange for free rent for a small cottage and a large workshop.

The farm has closed, I have lease optioned a small farm south of Morganton NC and have about 4 months worth of bills in the bank. I just arrived Sunday night and want to apply for many local employment options in hourly retail.

How do I quantify the pay for the barter ranch job?
How do I cover my concern for a bad reference since said boss went broke, and has publicly expressed disdain for some of the places I am applying to (he has gone on talk shows saying Walmart should be banned by the government)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-05-2016, 08:26 AM

Location: East of Seattle since 1992, 615' Elevation, Zone 8b - originally from SF Bay Area
44,585 posts, read 81,206,701 times