Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Job Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-26-2008, 02:19 PM

1,872 posts, read 4,222,028 times

Advertisements

I am a teacher who is considering relocating from Montana to Wyoming because pay is so much better there. I have a phone interview scheduled this week with the State of Wyoming. It isn't a teaching position, but is in my field of working with people with disabilities. Being I am in Montana they requested a phone interview rather than having me travel there for the interview. I have never been interviewed by phone before. I would like any advice anyone can give me. I have "boned up" on what the job qualifications are, the job description, the disability laws, etc. but I have no idea what to expect during this interview. I don't know if there will be a group of people on speakerphone or if it will be one-on-one with just one person. I am big on giving good eye contact and feel I do well at "reading people" by their body language, so this could be difficult for me, having to guess what people are thinking! Please......any advice is greatly appreciated!!!! Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-26-2008, 04:35 PM

24,597 posts, read 10,909,474 times
Have your bio in front of you with paper and pen
Repeat the interviewer's name, you did not understand it - ask
Be dressed for an interview as it will come through on the other end
Have questions ready and on paper
Do not ramble
Thank for the interview and ask for contact information
Chill:>)

Old 05-26-2008, 04:41 PM