Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Tennessee > Knoxville
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-01-2009, 09:12 AM

5 posts, read 32,360 times

Advertisements

Hi there!
I am a recent college graduate in Michigan and I am desperate to get out of here. I have visited Knoxville for a few days and I love it more than any other city i have ever been. But whenever I look for jobs in the area I only find some for Physician Assistants or Physical Therapists. Unfortuneatly for myself, my degree is in Fine Art and Communication and I am looking to get settled in a youth ministry posistion, a creative arts ministry position or a faith based non-profit where i can use my talents. I can't afford to move without a job promise - im barely making enough to live on here.

Apart from not finding anything, the problem with finding a job in ministry lies int he fact that i fear taking a job with a church only to find out they are way off centre or maybe teach things i do not believe (its happened to me before!) I am pretty conservative, but I very influenced by Shane Claiborne Donald Miller and Rob Bell.

Also, a few kind of trivial things that i have thought about....
-I hate football, passionately
-I have very low interest in country music. My tastes turn more towards indie rock.
-I hate sweet tea
-Im a vegetarian and try to eat completely local and organic

Will I survive here?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-01-2009, 12:38 PM

102 posts, read 429,765 times