Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-04-2009, 10:46 PM

38 posts, read 73,893 times

Advertisements

Hi,
I am considering to transfer to UMASS Amherst in near future. As a non-traditional out-of-state student, I am searching for an apartment/townhouse in a quiet neighborhood in surrounding area of Amherst. I don't mind commuting for maybe 15 -20min. (like someone had mentioned in other posts about commuting on winter days...have no idea what to expect, coming from TX...will 20min commute be really bad???)
From searching online, it seems like apartment complex in a typical college town does not exist.... I am looking very hard for a place with two bedrooms with 1 - 1+1/2 bath which accepts small dogs. (the budget for rent is pretty flexible)
I would appreciate any suggestions for this from anyone.(where to look, who to call, etc,.)
Thank you very much in advance...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-05-2009, 05:42 AM

122 posts, read 313,418 times
Even though I am not a college student, I began looking for apts in the same general area as you over a year ago, and was successful using craigslist. There were a few apt complexes listed in Amherst that did seem to cater to college students, so don't lose heart. There were also lots of duplexes. What I found was that you have to check the site every day, because sometimes places last only a day.