Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Miami
 [Register]
Miami Miami-Dade County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-21-2012, 09:15 AM

10 posts, read 13,177 times

Advertisements

To make a long story short, I originally grew up in Cutler Ridge(now Cutler Bay), spent the last 8 years in the military. Got out to do school and am now divorced and having trouble. Im currently studying engineering in Atlanta. I wanted to do it, but it seems like I need to be more honest with myself about what I can realistically accomplish. So....

I'm thinking about relocating to Miami to maybe do school. I have never been too knowledgeable of innercity Miami, but I would like to know what you guys would recommend in my position given the following...

1. I get a housing allowance from the military based on the "school" zip. for downtown Miami it is 1800.
2. Tuition is paid for at the higest instate rate(public). But i would be a georgia resident so I would be looking at schools that had the Yellow ribbon program(allowing me to pay the instate rate).
3. Im pretty much a second year student as it goes, ive got the basic classes done Eng 101 , Econ, etc.
4. If Engineering turn out to not be for me I think Economics/Computer Science, or some trade would be more inline with my personality.
5. I prefer not to drive, I could do a bike, or a bicycle. But don't think I'll be able to do a car without running a monthly deficit.

So please recommend a School,neighborhood,area to set up my life. Just need some focus thanks. I'm 28, white, male.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message