Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-04-2015, 09:49 PM

32 posts, read 37,897 times

Advertisements

This may sound insensitive or over critical, but am I the only one who thinks that NYC is the worst place for middle income families? I studied hard as a child to get into a good college, studied hard, got a decent job in the city, and yet am still struggling to make it. How does it seem fair that a low income person gets to live in the same building as me by paying very low rent, which may even be subsidized by the government. There are lotteries for folks of lower income to rent, even to buy. Yet, I cannot because I supposedly make too much under an arbitrary standard that makes absolutely no sense. I used to live in the UES and had a neighbor who was on welfare and assisted living. Yet, she managed to smoke like a chimney to the point where my asthma was a continuous issue and I had to move out. I don't mind the government helping the less fortunates/disabled and propelling to become more than they had hoped for. However, how does that translate to continuous reduced rent or lower home ownership, while the rest of us struggle to make ends meet in this absurdly expensive city? It seems like the city is determined to make the lives of certain individuals better, yet leave us middle class folks in the dust. I guess that's the philosophy everywhere.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-04-2015, 10:15 PM

25,556 posts, read 23,986,996 times
Quote: