Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon > Portland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-24-2010, 11:24 PM

7 posts, read 31,189 times

Advertisements

I've been renting a four-plex in Portland for the past seven years. The landlord recently started threatening to take away the shared storage space in the basement so he could put his own things in there. When I moved in there was a verbal agreement that I could store my stuff. He says if he has the right to take storage away from all the tenants. He says that he has the right because basement storage is not written into the contract. I took a look at the Oregon Landlord and Tenants rights, and though I don't quite know if I'm reading it right, it seems to say unless the landlord indicates in writing at the time the contract is signed, that the premises are to be used provisionally (depending on how much space he needs) he can't legally take it away, that is, without the tenants agreeing to it. I personally think the verbal agreement should be enough. Does anybody know if he can legally take away the basement storage after this amount of time? Doesn't it need to be written into the contract that the storage is subject to change when he is inclined to take it away? He has also, at various times, threatened to take away the laundry facilities, because he can, he says, as they are not written into the contract. Can he do this, when the tenants rented the place with an agreement, albeit verbal, to have storage space and washer and dryer?