Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary
 [Register]
Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary The Triangle Area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-27-2016, 09:35 AM

2 posts, read 1,395 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone!

I've lived in St. Louis all my life and am ready to make a change by next summer. I'm a writer who needs a "real" job still which would ideally be in a university library (or any library), so the Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill area appeals to me. I'm also eyeballing Virginia Beach. Does anyone have any insight into the Triangle for a childless, single, 33-year-old with a scrappy dog who likes to pal around with me? How walkable is Chapel Hill? How dog-friendly? I know this is a random question, but are there sidewalks on both sides of the street? Are there other towns nearby I should be looking at? Are there partying college students everywhere you look? I realize the summers are hot and humid, but how are the other seasons? Is the summer miserable? Best restaurants? Farmer's Markets? Any additional thoughts?

Thanks so much for your help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-27-2016, 11:00 AM

6,297 posts, read 16,058,081 times
Check Indeed.com for jobs in both areas. Better to live in the city where you'll be working.

In some areas, there are a lot of students.

Check Spotcrime and city-data for crime stats.

Summers are god-awful. Better to stay inside. Fortunately, falls and springs are pleasant, and winters are mild.