Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-21-2007, 09:38 AM

788 posts, read 4,067,619 times

Advertisements

Essentially, you do a for sale by owner, but you pay a fee to have it listed in the MLS. I think some companies also send you all of the listing contracts/paperwork, as well as a lockbox, and signage. Anyone do this? Did it work out for you? Is there a specific company you used? What was your experience with them?

I am a licenced realtor, but not working with a Broker. I have been out of the business for awhile, although still legally licensed, but I don't want to get back into it--just want to sell my condo, and do not want to hire a listing agent.

TIA!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-21-2007, 09:53 AM

2,896 posts, read 6,633,212 times
We did interview the owner/broker of the local help-u-sell before we listed our home. She brought with her a raw rookie real estate agent that couldn't answer a single question we asked. In addition they wanted to list our house FAR below FMV just to get a quick sale. I spoke with a friend of mine that has been in real estate for 20+ years about going this route. He said that if I do decide to sell my house this way buyers will know I'm not paying a typical broker fee and will negotiate on that along with everything else. I wish you luck on getting your property sold quickly with a minimum of hassle!

Old 03-21-2007, 10:38 PM

26 posts, read 125,914 times