Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Relationships
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-06-2014, 08:06 AM

5,121 posts, read 6,803,843 times

Advertisements

I am only thinking about this/considering it. Entertaining the question as it were. I've never done anything like this before, but I am starting to ask, "why not think about it?" I am just looking for feedback and opinions.

First, a little background.

I am sick and tired of dating. I've been trying to date for two years now with little success. I keep meeting married men, run of the mill jerks, or men who are just not right in the head (this ranges from a gambit of "crazier than a bag of cats and scares me" to "guy I met online that thinks I am his soul mate, yet if too nervous to meet me so all we do is message and talk on the phone.")

Anyway, I've asked male friends what's wrong that I attract these kinds of people, but the best answer they can give me is I am not a typical woman. They say they think married guys are attracted to me because I seem "fun" and at the same time they say serous guys avoid me because I seem too "fun" / seem like one of the guys. They make suggestions that essentially have me completely changing who I am (or lying about who I am). But I think either of those is absurd. I am not going to change or present myself as someone I am not.

It's just emotionally draining and I get nowhere. I am taking a break from it all (not giving up, just want to take a year or so "off the market" to recharge my batteries). That's why I am considering FWB.