Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Francisco - Oakland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-19-2011, 05:45 PM

1 posts, read 3,697 times

Advertisements

Hi all-

I'm a fairly recent graduate taking a position (after months and months of hunting) in Emeryville after living in WI all my life. I'm through with winter. Extremely excited to move out west.

My boyfriend is coming with and is interviewing for places downtown. That said, we both would really liked to live in the city. I've been reading threads now for days but thought I would ask for advice first hand, so here it goes.

1. If living in the city I would commute to Emeryville via Bart and then use the emery-go-round. I'd really prefer NOT to bring a car. I'm aware the commute will be fairly lengthy--do you know anyone else who does the same? Or do you know any other options for commuting from SF-Emeryville?

2. Assuming I commute that way, does anyone have any suggestions on relatively safe neighborhoods near BART in the city? Looking on spending about ~$1400 for an efficiency/1 bedroom. From what I hear it appears I should stay away from the Civic Station.

3. I'm going to have limited time to find an apartment (few day trip) and hear it is quite competitive to acquire one. Any tips on apartment hunting? I was considering subletting a bit for a month or so first if possible. It's also hard because I would assume many room shares would not consider living with a couple.