Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Tampa Bay
 [Register]
Tampa Bay Tampa - St. Petersburg - Clearwater
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-12-2010, 06:16 PM

19 posts, read 46,671 times

Advertisements

Paradise in FL???My fiance and I are considering moving to Florida. We have family on the west coast and family planning on moving to the east coast. My fiance is a teacher and I am a carpenter. We have always loved FL when we have visited and can't imagine wanting to come back to Staten Island. We may $1200 for a small one bedroom apartment, we have definetely outgrown. I have been laid off as a carpenter for over a year and would be looking for a construction, maintenance or CDL job in Fl, while I complete my degree in nursing. Is the cost of living truly less in FL?

My fiance however would have to leave her job. She hopes to find a job as an elementary school teacher. She has her masters degree and has taught for 4 years. Anyone have any advice for her on the outlook for teachers? Is it a huge mistake to move to Florida? We hear many mixed reviews? What are the pros and cons of teaching in FL? Could the schools possible be a more stressful place to work than a NYC middle school? I'm terrified she might regret the decision to give up the stability she has worked so hard to achieve.

Has anyone out there successfully relocated to Fl from SI at age 30? What are the major pros and cons of living there in comparison to NYC? How could it not be considered paradise in comparison to SI?