Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Travel
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-22-2012, 03:49 PM

30 posts, read 160,690 times

Advertisements

I would like to go on a trip (couple of weeks in length) to the UK but I've found from previous vacation experiences that I'm not very good at finding things to do. I was thinking it may be better to go with a package where the entire itenerary is booked ahead of time so I know where I'm going, what I'm doing and it's already paid in advance.

Would this not be enough flexibility though? Particularly for how flights are booked. In researching flights I've found it'd be significantly cheaper to flight to a neighboring country and then take a budget flight to the UK than fly direct from the USA. Would vacation packages only offer direct flights? I would also possibly like to fly home from a different country as I want to make a detour at the end.

Are packages found online a good idea? I looked at one site (Virgin Atlantic Vacations) and although they seemed to have some decent packages reviews for them seem terrible (usually poor customer service, similar experiences people usually have with Ryanair). Should I instead try to use a travel agent? If so where would I look for a good one (I've never met anyone who's ever used one before)?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-22-2012, 09:26 PM

7,487 posts, read 8,004,316 times