Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona > Tucson
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-04-2008, 10:49 AM

5 posts, read 15,392 times

Advertisements

Hi! I'm an incoming grad student to UA, and I'm hoping to get some advice about finding a place to live. La Aldea looks nice but expensive, so my roommate and I were going to try to look for off-campus housing within walking distance. I live in Chicago, and I can afford to come out once before I move to look for places. I'd like to move in early or mid July. My question is-- when should I visit? I have plane tickets for next weekend, but I'm thinking maybe I should change them because most places would want me to move in June 1st. Any thoughts?

Also, does anyone have general advice about the search? Proximity is probably most important, as we're trying to avoid driving to campus every day. I'm not afraid of crime (I'm working on the South Side of Chicago now). We'd need a two-bedroom. Thanks so much!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-04-2008, 12:36 PM

2,200 posts, read 4,423,197 times
Hi there! I'm pretty much in the same boat as you...and I've been doing tons of research over the past few weeks on this.

Go ahead and start shopping around for apt complexes in places you think you would like. Get your list, and contact these complexes to see if/when they will have availability when you want to move. I'm moving in August, and the complex I've requested won't know until July about what they will have.