Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Unemployment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-16-2015, 04:48 PM

1 posts, read 2,175 times

Advertisements

Hello,

I got laid off September 2015 and submitted my claim for unemployment and started receiving benefit September 19th. I've been working in high-tech field since 1992 and have never collected unemployment before, it's all new to me. I have been very busy networking and pursuing new job opportunities and documenting all of my activity but I made a mistake of not submitting my work online for about a month and when i went in to submit my documentation online, I was informed my claim was closed. I called and reopened my claim last week. I requested a phone interview to see if they would back date my claim. I am going through divorce, my mom had an unexpected stroke and had emergency quadruple bypass surgery. Again this does not excuse for my delay, It has just been a very stressful time right now and was really focused on finding a new job, my mom, finding healthcare and the divorce stuff.