Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Vermont
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-25-2017, 02:16 PM

13 posts, read 17,034 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone.
We will be moving this coming summer from south Florida. I’m a registered nurse (shouldn’t be a problem finding a job) with two teenagers. (16/19 this summer). We will be buying a home. I’ve lived in a small city and a small town before (western NC).
We have decided to leave the iguana and bug infested sprawl of Ft Lauderdale. I truly miss four seasons, and the mountains. I hope I have lived through my last hurricane. We don’t want to go back to NC (or TN) and I’ve ruled out most of the south.
My 16 year old will continue in public schools.
We are normal blue collar working folks (not wealthy, not retired). COL is a concern (and really, isn’t it for everyone??).
We are currently considering several areas including the White Mountains area of New Hampshire and also Vermont.
Although FL doesn’t have state income tax, our property taxes and home owners insurance is ridiculous. And I know that every state figures how to get their money (be it sales, property or income).
Any particular starting points for rural mountain areas or towns in Vermont?
Thank you for your time!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-25-2017, 06:02 PM

18,358 posts, read 26,503,289 times
First find work. Good paying jobs are scarce in VT and the rural parts of NH.

Old 10-25-2017, 10:43 PM

13 posts, read 17,034 times