Milwaukee: Municipal Government

Milwaukee is governed by a 15-member council and a mayor, who is not a member of council; all are elected to a four-year term. The council holds all policy-making and legislative powers of the city, including the adoption of ordinances and resolutions, the approval of the city's annual budget, and the enactment of appropriation and tax levy ordinances. In addition to their powers as legislators, council members serve as district administrators, responsible to the citizens in their districts for city services.

Head Official: Mayor Tom Barrett (since April 2004; current term expires March 2008)

Total Number of City Employees: 8,907 (2004)

City Information: City Hall, 200 E. Wells St., Milwaukee, WI 53202; telephone (414)286-2200