Harrisburg: Municipal Government

Harrisburg's is a strong mayor form of government, with separate executive and legislative branches. The mayor and seven council members are elected to four-year terms.

Head Official: Mayor Stephen R. Reed (D) (since 1982; current term expires January 2006)

Total Number of City Employees: 721 (2003)

City Information: Office of the Mayor, City of Harrisburg, City Government Center, 10 N Second St., Ste. 202, Harrisburg, PA 17101; telephone (717)255-3040; fax (717)255-3036; email mayor@cityofhbg.com