Austin: Municipal Government

Austin operates via a council-manager form of government. The mayor and six council members appoint the city manager, who is the chief administrator for the city. Each member serves staggered three-year terms. Term limits allow the mayor and council members to serve in their respective seat for a maximum of six years, or two consecutive terms.

Head Official: Mayor Will Wynn (since 2003; current term expires June 2006)

Total number of city employees: 10,692 (2004)

City Information: City of Austin, PO Box 1088, Austin, TX 78767; telephone (512)974-2000