Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Atlanta
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 08-07-2014, 03:15 PM

4,768 posts, read 5,438,386 times

Advertisements

No offense to anyone, but I'm starting to notice overweight police officers for the City of Atlanta. My concern is the Officer not being able to run, which I saw three ago after one Officer was running after someone. Does anyone currently know what the weight policy and physical stamina requirements for the City of Atlanta Police department. As an Officer I would think you simply must be able to run at fairly brisk pace.

Old 08-07-2014, 03:18 PM

10,019 posts, read 8,627,751 times
It's not just Atlanta,it's every where.
I once saw a cop that had to be close to 400 lbs.

Old 08-07-2014, 08:28 PM

2,613 posts, read 4,145,028 times
Yes, it is everywhere. I'm not sure there are ongoing requirements - perhaps the requirements are only at the time the officers join the force. Not sure. It's really similar to the nurse phenomenon. Living near Piedmont Hospital, I've driven past a number of times - only to see a bunch of nurses standing around taking a smoking break. And then you have the thing that lots of nurses are very overweight. Way overweight, but they are into healthcare. Go figure. Whatever floats someone's boat. Just find it ironic that they are specifically in the field of promoting good health and standing outside smoking and many times very overweight. But hey, maybe they are good nurses and that counts for something!

Quote:
Originally Posted by aliasfinn View Post