Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-14-2008, 01:19 PM

1 posts, read 2,766 times

Advertisements

My family is plannig to move to South Austin in August or September of this year. We have twin boys that are 2 yrs old. I will be working ear South Austin Hospital. I graduated from UT Austin in 1996, but from what I hear the city has changed a lot. We have some questions about South Austin:

1. Good neighborhoods - we are looking for a 3000+ square foot home that is under 600K in a good school district and in a neighborhood with lots of kids. Would like to keep the commute under 20-30 minutes.

2. Pre-schools- which ones would you recommend and is there a waiting list for the 2 yr old schools?

Thanks You.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-14-2008, 01:25 PM

675 posts, read 1,904,703 times
1. The Villages of Western Oaks, Circle C, or Meridian all fit your criteria. They all have tons of kids, great schools, a short (relatively speaking) commute to your job, and are within your price range.

2. Preschools are tough. I'd look at a Church program. Avoid Bright Horizons.

Old 04-14-2008, 01:43 PM

260 posts, read 1,331,202 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raskolnikov View Post
1. The Villages of Western Oaks, Circle C, or Meridian all fit your criteria. They all have tons of kids, great schools, a short (relatively speaking) commute to your job, and are within your price range.