Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Pets > Cats
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-10-2013, 10:17 AM

36,499 posts, read 54,108,088 times

Advertisements

We all know about Bad Breath In Dogs but I've never had a cat with bad breath. Langley has dental disease but his breath is not bad. he's 11 year old and I have been hesitating for almost 2 years to have his teeth cleaned. I'm afraid he is too old to be put under.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-10-2013, 01:28 PM

4,676 posts, read 9,997,426 times
Well, when we do hear about bad breath in cats is tends to be kidney disease related.

I wonder if the lack of bad breath in healthy cats vs dogs has something to do with the way cats actually eat their food, compared to dogs and their grooming sessions following.

Old 12-10-2013, 02:36 PM

2,978 posts, read 3,929,042 times
Kudzu, I don't think 11 is too old for a dental (assuming bloodwork and etc. are ok). My childhood cat had a dental at like age 16 (and she lived to 19)!

Our Tucker (15) has sort of bad breath and tartar build up. However, he has asthma and a slow-growing lung cancer so I'd rather not put him under if possible. For six months, I've been brushing his teeth daily. It's really made a difference in his breath. (FWIW, he's on an all wet diet.)

Old 12-10-2013, 05:11 PM

2,888 posts, read 6,541,484 times
Unless we suspect a problem, my cats usually get two dental cleanings in their lifetime - usually at around 6 and 12 years old.

Old 12-11-2013, 08:47 AM

9,912 posts, read 24,666,746 times