Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-04-2012, 09:09 AM

3,426 posts, read 8,916,708 times

Advertisements

I'm a 23 year old Sophomore who received a full-tuition scholarship to BC this past August. This does not include living expenses such as rent and food. This is a $50,000 tuition school, and I would never be able to afford to go to a school like this.

I grew up in Boston, but moved at the age of 17 to Miami, Fl.

The elegance of the school itself amazes me and the student body is clearly affluent, especially compared to me. The quality of the classes are great, but the workload is hefty and it has proven extremely difficult for me to even hold down a part-time job and keep my GPA up to requirements.

The problem is, I'm pretty miserable. I have been a happy person but I'm not happy anymore. I can't wait until I graduate and can move somewhere else. Boston does not suit me anymore, I'm a free-spirited beach bum, and an entrepreneurial wannabe trapped in corporate internships in a corporate city.

I grew up in a suburb of Boston, but the only ties I have left up here are aunts who take advantage of me having a car and driving them everywhere and 2 girlfriends who are kind of living in lala land, one of whom I'm thinking of cutting off completely. Old friends whom I don't keep in touch with anymore are on drugs such as oxycontin. My boyfriend is great, but love isn't enough to keep me happy here.