Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Hawaii
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-14-2010, 09:22 AM

102 posts, read 162,870 times

Advertisements

Hey all, brief background if we haven't met yet or you don't recall who I am (no one terribly important... ) - I visited Hawaii this February and talk about epic life changing...no news there right? Well I'm a musician, live in Minnesota and the last couple nights as I've been organizing material for my upcoming album, I decided to do a song based on my experience and new found love affair.

However not being native, I have obviously limited command of the native tongue and pidgin too. But I gave it a go, and from my haole stance, it looks good though has many warts to work out.

My question(s) for you in the know...

1 - Would it be 'offensive' for a guy like me to try and do something like this? I wouldn't try to pass myself off as something I'm not, musically/lyrically, but I have a deep love and respect for the Islands and want to pay tribute.

2 - Would someone be willing to go over the lyrics and advise if I'm making general sense, not making a mockery of anything and generally authentic without making a jackass of myself? If that makes sense?

I guess I just want someone to give it an 'approval' of some sorts, not that not having it would necessarily stop me but this is a serious, professional endeavor, not just some hack, bedroom recordings...

I'm not saying it's good necessarily either, lol. Just sayin'.

Thanks much for your thoughts and input!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-14-2010, 12:19 PM