Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Michigan
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-24-2010, 01:50 PM

7 posts, read 12,056 times

Advertisements

I'm a single professional in my mid thirties and considering relocating to one of two US cities: Ann Arbor or Philadelphia. I could have a job position in either one, so that (thankfully) is not an issue.
I grew up and live in Montreal, Canada, a cosmopolitan city I like very much. So on the one hand, I feel I'm more of a "northeast" girl and therefore Philly may be a better fit. On the other hand, I'd have a slightly better-suited job position in Ann Arbor (though Philly is not far off), but it seems to be better suited to students and families, and I am worried that I'll be bored there! A big plus for Ann Arbor for me is that it's safer--very important for me especially as a single girl. Speaking of which, I am wondering which would one be a better place for singles.
I would greatly appreciate any input.

This blog seems pretty great!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-24-2010, 02:11 PM

323 posts, read 1,131,807 times
I don't think you'd be bored in Ann Arbor, but it's definitely a college town. I'd say you should visit both and see for yourself. Philadelphia is a much larger city than Ann Arbor and will feel more congested because of its proximity to other large cities. In Ann Arbor, you'll have Detroit down the road to the east and lots and lots of countryside outside of town.