Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Non-Romantic Relationships
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-02-2013, 02:09 PM

1,275 posts, read 1,934,383 times

Advertisements

I don't know about you, but I feel like I let myself down when I am sarcastic or rude on this forum. It's not in my nature at all to be this way in person----but there's something about others' sarcasm or rudeness that brings out the worst in me. Perhaps it's because we're all hiding anonymously behind typed words. I am relatively new to the online forum "world." I joined to chat, learn some things, ask questions, take a pulse on what other people are interested in and talking about, etc. But I see so many really rude and obnoxious comments that it makes me think I've made a big mistake. And it's even worse when I find myself giving into temptation to be rude and obnoxious, too!

Can anyone else relate to this? Perhaps a new year resolution is in order for me. No more rude comments on the C-D forum!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-02-2013, 02:12 PM

730 posts, read 1,315,685 times
I couldn't agree with you more. Many, many times I don't post because I really dislike the condescending and rude comments from many of the posters.

Old 01-02-2013, 02:19 PM

20,410 posts, read 14,698,234 times
If anything I think I'm a bit less sarcastic on CD than I am in real life, because snarky tones and facial expressions don't translate, so too often people don't catch my jokes, think I'm serious, and just totally misread.