Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Relationships
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-07-2014, 04:59 PM

17 posts, read 15,105 times

Advertisements

So I'm pretty new to this but will try to get back to the point. I'm a lawyer that passed the bar not too long ago and was able to get a pretty sweet gig. I have a long term gf who I've been with for 4 years whom I planned to officially propose to during the winter holidays. With my new financial freedom I decided to help her get a new car (MB), mind you I drive a simple Nissan. Anyway, we get into a fight last weekend (where she is undoubtedly in the wrong) and instead of making things right and admitting she messed up she wants to split. So now we have the car in her name, which I intended to pay for, that she wants me to take back while blaming me for her financial burden. I think she's spoiled and once she terminated the relationship I no longer assume any responsibility for the car. Please give me some feedback.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-07-2014, 05:07 PM

837 posts, read 961,282 times
I'm a big fan of avoiding financial dependence on anyone but myself. Other people should probably take the same advice, but sometimes love makes you lose sight of the inevitable end of a mediocre relationship (if it weren't subpar, you two would have better conflict resolution skills and would have found a compromise to this argument you had).