Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-23-2010, 09:20 AM

964 posts, read 3,161,438 times

Advertisements

About my job - i work in retail and my primary job is dealing with inventory. It is VERY stressful. But first let me explain what I do. In my job, I have to manage an inventory system. Basically, if the computer tells me something needs to go out on the floor and be stocked, then I pull it and send it out.

Sounds easy right?

Well there's several departments where a lot of them have over 100 items that need to be pulled and sent out to the floor. They want them ALL done for a 100% on a ****ty score card. And I generally have to do it by myself. Then a lot of times, it won't go out either because 1. someone lies and sends it back, 2. someone plugs the item's spot and that throws everything off, 3. the amount of a particular item we have onhand is wrong, or 4. the system(called modulars in store) is calling for it to be set up but it's not.

The system we use is very messed up, and I am usually seeing the same item go out onto the floor each night.

And that's only the tip of the iceberg. I have to lift boxes that are 100x heavier than me, though I'm pretty strong so it's not too bad. It's very HOT in the stockroom where I work, i am constantly in stress, constantly losing my cool with people because they're working on my nerves and know I'm already under enough stress as it is.