Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-08-2014, 06:33 PM

29,871 posts, read 25,005,650 times

Advertisements

Just wondering... I'm interested in moving to a new location. Instead of driving or flying to interviews constantly, would it make more sense to use a temp agency? I've never used temp services before. In fact, I have always held a very negative opinion of them. Even still, I wouldn't mind meeting with a recruiter once, then working a temp to hire position for a period of 3 months or so. In the end, I'm relocated and able to find another job with general ease. Also, some services place you in a full time position, and simply collect a commission for the service.

Any thoughts? There are plenty of jobs in this location, and the pay vs COL is actually pretty attractive. It would be a PITA to have to fly down for interviews, especially while working.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-08-2014, 07:50 PM

2,533 posts, read 4,611,060 times
The job offer I got that had me moving from GA to WA in 2011 was with a temp agency... Aerotek. I got hired on by the client after 5 months.