Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Mexico > Albuquerque
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-01-2011, 03:24 AM

49 posts, read 158,637 times

Advertisements

Hey..I am a college graduate from Europe and I would like to come to USA to take an english language course mayby for a half year or mayby to stay for a longer period.
I am trying to choose a good place for me. I am thinking about texas - Canyon tx, El Paso, Arlington or Denton, but also about New Mexico.

I have been to texas a few years ago, but I have never been to NM.

How is Albuquerque? Is there a good nightlife, transportation (probably i will have no car to get around at the begining) Is albuquerque pretty? I know, that americas history is much "younger" that Europe, but are there any historical buildings in downtown, is downtown revitalized? When I have been to USA, the downtowns in some cities looked like a ghost towns, totally empty to compare to European downtons. So is albuquerque downtown livable with some nightlife and fun possibilities?
Are people nice and friendly there? (texans were the friendliest people I have ever met.)
Are there any nightlife possibilities close to university campus? Is route 66 preserved in ABQ?

I love USA, especially south and southwest, but I don´t know what to expect from New mexico and Albuquerque. Give me some advices, which place to choose to enjoy my stay in USA

thank yall so much
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-01-2011, 09:09 AM

4,255 posts, read 5,935,067 times