Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S. > City vs. City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

View Poll Results: Houston vs Philadelphia
Houston 185 42.43%
Philadelphia 251 57.57%
Voters: 436. You may not vote on this poll

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-10-2015, 11:56 AM

76 posts, read 101,981 times

Advertisements

I recently visited the Northern Virginia/DC area for the first time and fell in love with the vibe. Or maybe I just fell in love with the East Coast in general.

Unfortunately the DC area is very expensive for me considering I'm just starting out my career, but I'm hoping the charm I felt can be experienced in a surrounding state/city. If I can still get to DC relatively quickly, even better. I started another topic in this section, Houston v Baltimore v Norfolk. Baltimore appears to be out of the running, Norfolk is still a consideration but the low salary for my field is worrisome.

A small background on me for the little it may be worth: I've lived in Houston for nearly my entire life and while I do love this city, I'm a bit tired of it. I have also lived out in Georgia for 6 months, Oklahoma for 6 months, El Paso, TX for three years, then moved back to Houston. I don't think the south is for me. I'm single, female, mid-20's, and pursing nursing (and will be continuing education so schools are very important wherever I go). I know Houston is a great place for nurses, but surely there is life outside Texas...

So for Houston, TX vs Philadelphia, PA I'm looking for your opinion...