Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S.
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-15-2013, 09:28 PM

11 posts, read 71,563 times

Advertisements

Hello!
My husband and I want to move, but don't know where we should go!

We're in our mid 20's, been married almost 5 years now. I'm an elementary school teacher, currently in my second year. He has his degree in Microbiology, but has been working at a restaurant for the past year. We're originally from Seattle, moved to Maui two years ago.

We can't afford a home here on the island, so we're considering our next big move. We don't want to go back to Seattle. We want a city that we can afford a home in ($200,000 or less). One that is big enough to have concerts and other entertainment, or is close to a big city. I can teach basically anywhere, so I'm not too worried about me. But high unemployment rates might affect my husband negatively. He's really not sure what he wants to do. I kind of miss having seasons, but I'm not a fan of a ton of snow. I don't mind being too warm.

We're wanting to have kids soonish, but want to be mildly settled before we start that adventure.

We've seriously considered Las Vegas and Memphis, both because of their highly attractive real estate market. I have heard the negativity for both of those places, so I'm not really looking for any more info on either. I want to know which city we're missing!

Thanks for any recommendations!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-15-2013, 11:27 PM

1,016 posts, read 2,979,340 times