Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Great Debates
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-13-2019, 02:10 PM

50,750 posts, read 36,458,112 times

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by LowonLuck View Post
In the blue collar jobs, yes there is a shortage of workers that are drug free, eager to work, not covered in tattoos and dependable. Then finding someone to do skilled work with actual skill is another challenge.

I am a manager for a small 15 person plumbing company. I can find “helpers” but skilled plumbers are elusive. Which is why plumbers are now making $50 an hour. The good ones have jobs. The bad ones float around to every company just collecting a paycheck. We have tried training, but you either have it or you don’t.
Yes, my honey has his own blue collar business and he has a tough time. First of all, a lot of jobs like he has to offer are hard to fill because they are not full time or guaranteed hours, and no benefits. They may have a big job over the next two weeks where they need three additional hands, but the rest of the month may be slow or only have smaller jobs that he and his son can do. Many blue collar businesses are like this. So right off the bat you're starting from a different set of candidates. But it is good money, one day of work would get them more than a week at Home Depot would. But most probably couldn't get hired at Home Depot.