Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Nevada > Las Vegas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-26-2009, 07:03 PM

1 posts, read 13,483 times

Advertisements

Hello peps! Just moved here and im very new to this city. I have a question for you pool owners. My house came with a pool(inground)how bad is the winters here, do i have to winterize the pool(drain water)and put a pool cover??

Ive called a few pool companies today and i have mixed views.

There telling me not to worry about winter and run the pump from midnight to 6am in the morning. is this true??? no covers/no water drainage?

as is getting closer to winter im feeling very worried .

please input.....Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-26-2009, 07:09 PM

2,990 posts, read 8,710,395 times
You do not have to winterize your pool here in Las Vegas. You still have to keep your water balanced and run your pump at night (or coldest part of the night) to prevent any pipes from freezing on those nights when it drops below freezing (usually dec-jan). You can put a cover on it, but it might just keep it dirty since it can get very windy at times. Draining a concrete pool can damage it because you risk cracking and flaking the plaster. If you have any more questions, you can DM me and I will answer any more questions in detail.

Old 10-26-2009, 07:14 PM

3,683 posts, read 9,858,753 times