Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maine
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-26-2008, 08:34 PM

8,767 posts, read 18,698,077 times

Advertisements

This thread is a spinoff from the thread titled need information. In that thread I suggested the original poster purchase a chainsaw. In my opinion the chainsaw is an essential tool in Maine. In the wrong hands ,used carelessly, or when tired, or by the untrained, there are few tools more dangerous than a chainsaw. It isn't a tool you just pull from the box and become an instant expert. I'm not an expert with a chainsaw and don't pretend to be. I have used chainsaws since I was 16 and I'm soon to be 50. I have had a few close calls but knock on wood no nasty cuts. I do have friends that were not so lucky and wear the scars as proof. I wear chaps designed to stop the chain in miliseconds to prevent a cut. I also always wear leather boots, leather gloves and eye protection around a chainsaw. I learned how to use a saw, fell, limb ,and buck up trees by watching experts and working along with folks who knew what they were doing. A good way to get into using a saw if you have never used one is to have someone who knows how to show you the basics. Reading the instruction manual will show you the starting procedure, chain maintenence and basic saw maintenence though there is nothing like hands on experience. Go slow and get the feel for it and in a few days you'll build confidence enough to cut up all of those standing dead trees out back for firewood! Chainsaws are not for everyone though . My brother wi