Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Politics and Other Controversies
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

View Poll Results: Do you support the idea of 2 years mandatory military service for all Americans?
Yes 45 26.16%
No 111 64.53%
Other (explain) 16 9.30%
Voters: 172. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 05-27-2015, 09:05 AM

46,289 posts, read 27,108,503 times

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdAilment View Post
As a navy veteran I do know what I'm talking about. You will receive a minimum of $356 a month untaxed in food allotments. Overseas assignments bring all sorts of specialty pay.
Maybe in the Navy....not in the Army...you get squat while over seas...unless you are talking in a combat zone then things change...but if you think it's like that throughout, well, you really don't know.

Quote:
Being on a ship in international waters puts you in a tax free zone, then there's sea pay, if you're married you get family separation pay, if you work in hazardous conditions you get hazard pay. There are many incentive pays one can receive. And you'll only be an E-1 for a few months, ranking up to E-2 and E-3 is a matter of months.
Not everyone is on a ship, I've also seen E-2 and E-3s be that for up to a few years. They are not gimmie promotions, a company is allotted a certain amount per month....hell in Korea we had boards to see who the best private was.....