Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Rural and Small Town Living
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-18-2008, 09:49 AM

9,324 posts, read 26,743,113 times

Advertisements

As a Florida resident I have seen what can happen when outsiders invade your home and drive prices to the stratosphere. The quality of life takes a dive, and the natural scenery is bulldozed to make room for suburban homes, condos and shopping centers. One tool used by the invaders is zoning. They pass laws to basically outlaw everything that you do, and then use property taxes to drive out the "undesireable" natives and develop everything into homogenous "zoned" communities with ridiculous rules as to appearrances, "junk and trash", commercial business, etc that makes a group of homes far from places of work or business, and then the residents go back and forth like rats commuting. What areas allow farms , homes, factories, junkyards, fruit stands, and the like all in the same area? Where can you live free from zoning Nazis that fine you for whatever they see fit, and want to take your home away? Where are property taxes low enough so you can hold on to land instead of selling it to developers who fill it with clutter? Does such a place exist, or are rural areas becomming "yuppified" and full of big city money? Is there anywhere that you can enjoy the right to "life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness"? Anyplace where they view Code Enforcement like the old time "revenooers" - as target practice?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-18-2008, 10:49 AM