Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-04-2009, 09:51 PM

3,532 posts, read 6,425,988 times

Advertisements

I am a school teacher and the sad reality is that our country seems to be on a demise simply from bad parenting and its increasing secularization. Since the 1960s we have been on a demise because, as the at home mom became employed, that took away time she had for PROPERLY rearing her children. I don't want anyone to think that I am against mothers working, especially in a day and age where we need two incomes for a family to make it. But when more moms went into the work force that took away time for seeing how well their children were doing in school.

Also, we forget that we have a lot of baby mama drama going on, and it seems as if it's a badge of honor for people to have children out of wedlock. Again, the family is not the traditional family that it once was with both parents living in the household together. Some people are choosing to be single parents complicating the family structure even further.

Many of our American youth, don't value education the way other youth from other country's value education. Just look at our test scores. Here in CA all high school students have to take a high school exit exam, which assesses students up to 8 or 9th grade curriculum. Yet we have a large number of students who aren't passing because some of them don't pay attention in class, aren't FLUENT in English, and don't give a rat's booty about that exam.