Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-28-2015, 06:38 PM

15 posts, read 15,812 times

Advertisements

I have an associate's degree and would like to go back to school for a degree in something business-related. I have been really considering accounting or finance, but from the research I've done online it seems that the jobs you are likely to get after graduating require you to work 60-80 hours a week. The way I see it, your hourly rate is lowered significantly when you work twice the normal number of hours, so it may seem like you're making a good salary when in reality you're just working yourself to the bone and not making much per hour.

I'm not lazy by any means, but work-life balance is important to me. I have no desire to work more than 40-45 hours a week. I want to live my life! I don't feel the need to be rich, but I do want to be able to afford to have a kid someday.

Is it really challenging to find a job in accounting or finance where you're in the office for less than 10 hours a day? What business major would you suggest for someone wanting a typical 40-hr. workweek?

I live in Omaha, NE, if that helps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-28-2015, 08:55 PM

10,990 posts, read 20,570,522 times
Sometimes, yes.