Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Health and Wellness
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-29-2012, 04:01 AM

977 posts, read 1,109,428 times

Advertisements

Joan,
Thanks for sharing, and I hope your life improves......I'm 61, and also worried. Stress sure does affect us, doesn't it? I'm also an artist, BTW.
Peace.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-29-2012, 07:05 AM

18,949 posts, read 43,596,850 times
Joan, if Imodium works for you then use it. Loperamide (Imodium) is an opiate but it doesn't cross the blood brain barrier, so it's not supposed to be addictive. Most doctors will tell you to take it for as long as you need it.

You should also consider asking your doc for an anti anxiety drug like Valium or Ativan, these ARE addictive, but if you need them just one or two days per week they're a huge help.

Old 05-28-2012, 08:03 PM

1,237 posts, read 3,448,424 times
I realize this thread is pretty inactive, but I HATE my IBS. It was basically a lack of other problem diagnosis...about 6 years ago.

It comes and goes - I can go for months-years with no problems and then all of the sudden a bad week. Like others here stress and anxiety seems to agitate the problem. Honestly the problem for me is that I WORRY about needing a bathroom. For the most part, if I know I can get to a restroom, I'm fine. I am terrified of being stuck in traffic. And then there are the time when it's not just in my head - and I have to go NOW. Anyone else with the ridiculous sense of urgency? Solutions?

Old 05-28-2012, 08:39 PM