Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Michigan
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-01-2009, 11:52 PM

51 posts, read 239,010 times

Advertisements

So I'm one of those people that moved from Michigan to Arizona because I could not find a teaching job fresh out of college. I got quite a few interviews because I'm a male elementary school teacher. Strangely enough, I miss Michigan and would love to move back. My wife's due in January with our first child and we want to live close to family. Also, the Phoenix area is a dump and not a good place to raise a family.

I was wondering if there's any teachers out there who have moved out of state, taught for a few years, and then moved back to Michigan? I'm looking to move back home next summer. At that time, I'll have taught second grade for three years in a highly impoverished area. I'll also be 6 credit hours away from finishing my Masters' degree in Ed. Leadership (I'll be able to finish it online whenever I want). Is there any chance that my experience will help me procure a job or am I stuck here in Arizona until the economy improves?

Thank you for the information!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-06-2009, 04:21 PM

6,233 posts, read 9,482,428 times
Hi teacherguy!

I'm a teacher myself. I'm moving to NC to teach, (after TWO years of subbing) but I hope to move back in a couple of years myself. I'm in secondary, and all I can say is there are very VERY few openings across the state. But keep trying. Good luck to ya!

Old 07-07-2009, 07:59 PM

21,088 posts, read 29,227,920 times
Quote: