Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Orange County
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-06-2011, 01:36 PM

16 posts, read 28,124 times

Advertisements

I work as a Field Engineer for an IT company, so I can work from home and randomly travel to other states. My company is willing to transfer me to the Los Angeles area and I was wondering where I live decently on 60 to 65k a year (they haven't decided how much of a cost of living raise I'll get yet).

I was thinking the Irvine area, but that might be too expensive. What are some nice areas in Orange county that I could pay rent and save some money at the same time? I want to be somewhat near the ocean and south.

I have no debts. No credit cards. No student loans.

Your help is extremely appreciated!

-David
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-06-2011, 02:15 PM

394 posts, read 966,995 times
One thing to bear in mind. Orange County is not Los Angeles - even though from outside the local area we are all lumped into one geographical region. There is a different mind-set between LA County and Orange County - despite what Arte Moreno might think, lol

If you are a young dude you might consider City of Orange or Fullerton as options to Irvine. Both are College towns with lower rents than the coastal cities. But if you want to be closer to the ocean there are certainly other places to consider such as Costa Mesa, Seal Beach or Long Beach.

Huntington Beach has some affordable areas but parts can be a little sketchy, as can parts of Long Beach and even parts of Costa Mesa.