Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona > Phoenix area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-15-2016, 07:08 AM

4 posts, read 2,584 times

Advertisements

Hi all!

I did read some scary stories about renting places in PHX area and I wanted to ask some questions...
I will be moving to PHX from abroad and looking for a place to live.
Problem is that I have no references (haven't lived in the US, ever); no credit rating (same reason), but I will have a job secured (and I'm a permanent resident too). Do you thing it will be hard to find a decent 1 bd apartment? What should I expect and what could I do to make it easier?
Also, any recommendations as to which areas have good options ? I'd work in North Scottsdale and I don't want a really long commute. I don't need good schools, I don't have kids, but would prefer to be close to a lively area with stuff to do. (shops, bars, clubs)
Um, I am also unsure how to get a driving license... I cannot swap my current (foreign) license for an AZ one, and as far I understand it, I need to have a car for the test, but buying a car would mean that I have to have insurance and for insurance, I need a license... I am utterly confused, what am I missing?

Cheers & Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-15-2016, 08:06 AM

720 posts, read 735,970 times