Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-20-2013, 02:56 PM

59 posts, read 54,947 times

Advertisements

Newbie here folks. My wife and I just this afternoon took a tour of the renovation going on at 613 Whitney Avenue. Beautiful detailing and a huge house. I particularly love the wrought iron fence surrounding the property. I think my wife is leaning towards a serious step in moving into the neighborhood.

Was wondering if any of you good folks could share some history, pictures, little tidbits about the property and the surrounding area.

I am retired, my wife works for the Fred Rogers Company and she wants to move into town. We currently are located in Butler and the difference in the markets is like being in the twilight zone.

Please share your knowledge good and not so good. I have searched and found one thread that had a picture which I appreciate. Hoping there are more.

Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-20-2013, 03:07 PM

508 posts, read 889,784 times
Are you referring to this little gem in Wilkinsburg: Allegheny County Assessment ?

Old 02-20-2013, 03:14 PM

7,380 posts, read 15,676,948 times
that is a beautiful house, and it's about time it was renovated! it sat vacant for a long time with an owner who wouldn't let go of it. the big window facing todd street from the stairs used to have stained glass with a unicorn on it.

i don't know much about the history of the house but i can recommend a great local house historian if you like!