Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-21-2009, 06:35 PM

10 posts, read 19,356 times

Advertisements

Greetings all...I have been pondering this for a about couple of weeks now.

So here is the story, I've been with this company for a about 7 years now, I am a CAD operator/designer, and I loved doing it. During that 7 years, I got warned for abusing my internet access in my 5th year review (We are blocked from all but news sites). Being a bone-head, idiot, call it whatever you want, I abused it again couple of weeks ago, and the big boss wanted to fire me (I don't blame him) but didn't. Granted, I got all projects done on time, but that isn't an excuse. I admit, I messed up royally. For a last chance deal, I got moved to the assembly/testing dept, where we actually test the product we make which is great because I am learning a new skill. The problem I'm having is that I am no longer comfortable working there due to the fact that everybody know why I got transferred, and I feel everybody is looking down at me (again, I don't blame them, I brought this down on myself), I am having anxiety attacks, chest pain, and sleepless nights.

Also, I live in a state where the unemployment number is pretty high, and what's worse, no one is hiring CAD designers/engineers.

Here is my money situation. I can live the same life style I'm living now for about 18-24 months.

So what should I do? Stay or Leave?