Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-19-2010, 03:21 PM

3 posts, read 4,459 times

Advertisements

I am a SPED teacher looking for a new life in a city where there is a fantastic music and fabulous restaurants. I am seriously considering Austin or Dallas. I want to live downtown and be able to walk to restraunts and night life. As I have no clue about area, what can I expect the cost for a nice 2 bed 2 bath condo to be? I have looked on realtor.com and 6th street looks like it offers what I want. Other areas anyone thinks I should check out. Visiting the city at the end of August.
Also, what are SPED job prospects in the school district - if there are any teachers out there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-19-2010, 06:08 PM

2,238 posts, read 9,017,965 times
I have a friend that just moved into a downtown apartment 1/1+study (700 sq ft) and it's $1400/month.

Old 09-20-2010, 01:04 AM

1,148 posts, read 2,780,995 times
Basically I'd secure employment before moving here. Theres a $21 billion dollar budget shortfall and they're going to find a way to cut education also.

Old 09-20-2010, 08:18 AM

13,714 posts, read 31,176,487 times
I am not a teacher, but from what I hear special ed teachers seem to always be in demand.

I doubt you really want to spend too much time on 6th street. It is a popular entertainment area, but other areas are more refined and have the higher quality clubs and restaurants. 6th is more popular with the college and post-college groups.