Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-21-2021, 05:58 PM

349 posts, read 322,260 times

Advertisements

Hello!

We currently live in Boston, MA. My partner might receive an offer with UT Austin. I can work remotely, though I work in tech and commute to the main tech areas is a plus long term.

I have never lived in Texas and only visited the touristy things of the Alamo and the San Antonio River walk a decade ago. Never been to Austin. Some quick searching online brought up the North Loop and Allendale neighborhoods.

Key priorities:
- Less than a 30 minute commute to UT Austin, preferably by public transit, bike, or walking.
- Ability to walk and bike to do errands in general
- A quiet neighborhood, not on a busy street
- 3 br, 2 ba detached SFH or townhouse. I really don't want neighbors above or below, though on the side is acceptable. Under 3000sqft, preferably closer to 2000 sqft
- enough yard space for a vegetable garden
- reasonable schools, no children yet but trying. Not looking for the top

Target price is $1.8mm. We could probably stretch to $2.3mm. I know the Austin market is really hot right now, so I don't have a good sense of what's reasonable. I know we can probably afford the convenient neighborhoods, but I just don't know what they are.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-21-2021, 06:51 PM

9,854 posts, read 13,731,138 times