Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-24-2020, 11:06 AM

10 posts, read 12,154 times

Advertisements

My husband is trying to get on working at the Herlong Army Depot. I’m a teacher wondering where the best place to find work is. I see Reno isn’t far, but I’m licensed in CA....not sure if anyone has any tips on areas move.
We want to have an acre or so in a small town, but close enough for medical and shopping.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-24-2020, 11:10 AM

130,339 posts, read 12,112,869 times
Chico is about 100 miles away from Susanville, maybe you can find property somewhere between SV & Chico, & get a teaching job in Chico.

Old 03-24-2020, 11:31 AM

102,211 posts, read 107,931,771 times
Or Truckee, north of Tahoe? Slightly shorter drive time than Chico... IDK, OP; I think you'll have to watch for teacher openings anywhere in the area, for ex., along the CA side of hwy 395, as well as in S-ville itself, of course. You could start by subbing, if you don't mind that.

Old 03-24-2020, 12:16 PM

I am not sure about the snow & ice, but I would think driving to Reno would have more than driving to Chico. Plenty of places along the route from SV to Chico.

Old 03-26-2020, 08:28 PM

1,231 posts, read 1,664,323 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by evening sun View Post
I am not sure about the snow & ice, but I would think driving to Reno would have more than driving to Chico. Plenty of places along the route from SV to Chico.